Home » Chandraghanta – The Married Form Of Durga
Chandraghanta - The Married Form Of Durga

Chandraghanta – The Married Form Of Durga

Chandra meaning “Moon” and Ghanta meaning “Bell”, the one who has a half-moon shaped bell. Chandraghanta is the married form of goddess Parvati. She is the third manifestation of Durga and is worshipped on the third day of the Navaratri festival. After being married to Lord Shiva, she took on the liking of dressing up and adorning herself with a half-moon. This is where the name Chandraghanta comes from.

Her alternate names are Chandrakhanda, Rannchandi and Chandika. Her third eye is always said to be open as she is ever ready to destroy demons and evils in this world. However, this form of goddess Parvati or goddess Durga promotes peace and welfare amongst all her devotees. Still, in this manifestation, she is always ready for war and protecting her family and subjects. There is special importance behind the half-moon bell on her forehead. The shrieking sound of that bell repels the demons and evil spirits. She protects her devotees by creating that sound and keeping them safe from the evils.

Venus is the planet governed by Chandraghanta Devi according to astrology experts. Chandraghanta is a great example of grace, beauty and charm. Lord Shiva considers her as an embodiment of these three qualities. Goddess Chandraghanta’s vehicle is a tiger or a lion. This definitely denotes bravery & power in this goddess. She looks very radiating in her pink/red saree adorned with gold jewellery. She has 10 hands and each one of them holds a significant weapon or thing that defines her manifestation.

In her left hand, she holds a Trishul (trident), Gada (mace), Khadak (sword) and Kamandala (waterpot). Her fifth left hand is in Varada hasta mudra. Varada hasta mudra is a gesture of giving boons to devotees or into the world. Considering that goddess Chandraghanta was always looking out for her devotees, it only seems right for her to have this mudra.

Her right hand held Kalam (lotus flower), Baan (Arrow), Dhanushya (Bow), Jap Mala (an instrument of meditation and chanting). The fifth hand on the right hand is placed in Abhaya hasta mudra. Much like Varada hasta mudra, Abhaya mudra holds a very significant meaning to the qualities of the goddess. This mudra signifies fearlessness, safety and reassurance. Again, coming back to the qualities of goddess Chandraghanta, she is a symbol of bravery and ultimate power in this world. When she is always looking out for her subjects, it becomes quite evident that she can be the spreader of reassurance and fearlessness in this world.

Her devotees achieve success in life as they become fearless and brave to take up any challenge in the world. They develop an aura of divinity and are surrounded by peace, calm and serenity. Just like the goddess, her devotees are ready to fight the evil and demons in their life – not just in a physical form but also in a mental and spiritual form to attain greater heights in their lives. Goddess Chandraghanta lives in the Manipura Chakra. She destroys the evil to spread peace and prosperity on the earth and in the universe. It is said that if any devotee of goddess Chandraghanta comes across divine fragrance and sound then he is in fact blessed by the goddess herself.

Her mantra is “Om Devi Chandraghantayai Namah”.

Click here to read about Brahmacharini – The Unmarried Form Of Durga.

Mytho World

Welcome to the world of Indian Mythology!

Post navigation

1 Comment