Home » Colors Of Navratri And What Do They Denote?
Colors Of Navratri And What Do They Denote? | नवरात्रि के नौ कलर और उनका महत्व

Colors Of Navratri And What Do They Denote?

Navratri is one of the most auspicious festivals celebrated in India. It is predominantly celebrated in the northern part of the country by people of the Hindu religion. The festival is celebrated for nine days and each day, the believers worship a particular incarnation or form of the Goddess. It is therefore called Navratri meaning “Nine Nights”. Every day has a designated color and all colors of Navratri have their own importance.

Navratri celebrates feminine power and several followers also worship young girls who are considered to be god-like due. The worshipping of a girl child denotes the importance of the female child and their role in our society. On each night, the worshippers celebrate the existence of the different forms of the Goddess and pray to her that she bestows her blessings on her devotees.

The colors of Navratri and what they denote:

White – The first day of Navratri is dedicated to Mata Shailaputri. The goddess is said to be the first manifestation or incarnation of Durga. Goddess Shailaputri is the daughter of Himalaya and the color white not only denotes the white color of the supreme mountain range but also stands for peace, prosperity, and purity. Goddess Shailaputri is also known as Sati and Bhawani and the color white is also symbolic of her innocence.

Red – The Red color is significant on the second day of Navratri. On this day, the devotees hail the Goddess Brahmacharini, who is yet another avatar of the Goddess Durga. She is also known as the Goddess of penance and the color red symbolizes passion as well as love. However, some people also believe that the color red stands for her anger or stubbornness and devotion towards a life of penance and austerity, the two qualities that her name stands for.

Royal Blue – This color becomes important on the third day of Navratri when the devotees worship the Goddess Chandraghanta, the one with the crescent moon. The fierce goddess rides a ferocious tiger. The color, royal blue speaks of her unmatched grace and royalty. Apart from these two, it is also symbolic of the authority and trusts that the devotees show in the Goddess.

Yellow – The fourth day of Navratri is the day when the worshippers worship the Goddess Kushmanda. The Goddess Kushmanda is often believed to have created this world that we live in, that too, with her smile. The yellow color denotes the energy, cheerfulness, and happiness that the Goddess brought along with her creation.

Green – On the fifth day of Navratri, the devotees worship Goddess Skandmata and offer her gifts in the form of green sarees or green bangles. The color green here symbolizes fertility and growth- a celebration of these two gifts that women alone have been bestowed with.

Grey – On the sixth day of Navratri, the worshippers hail the Goddess Katyayani, who is said to be one of the fiercest forms of the Goddess Durga. The goddess Katyayani is said to be a warrior goddess which is evident from the fact that she has four arms and also carries a sword. The color grey symbolizes her fierceness and violent temperament as it resembles the color of ashes.

Orange – The color orange becomes prominent on the seventh day of Navratri or Saptami, that is, the day of Goddess Kaalratri. The goddess is said to have given up her complexion and willingly adopted a darker skin complexion before embarking on her journey of killing the demons. The orange color is symbolic of the fire within her and her fierce intentions of punishing the demons.

Peacock Green – The devotees worship the Goddess Mahagauri on the eighth day of Navratri, also known as the Maha Ashtami. This Goddess is believed to ride a bull or a white elephant. She has four hands and holds a Trishul in one along with a Damru in the other. The peacock green color denotes her individuality and distinctness.

Pink – On the final day of Navratri, that is, the Navami, the devotees worship the Goddess Siddhidatri. She is seated on a lotus, holding a mace, a lotus, a book, and a discus in a hand each. The color pink stands for love, affection, and harmony which the Goddess is known for.

So these are the colors of Navratri and their importance.

Read about all the goddesses in detail here.

Mytho World

Welcome to the world of Indian Mythology!

Post navigation

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *